A DAY ISN’T 24 HOURS OF NIGHT, DARLING

It’s being all ears to everything 

That really destroys your soul 

Inch by inch, day by day

The fear of knowing everything 

The fear of not being able to tell them

She’s growing weaker, every day

She’s starting to think of ways 

Ways to end the tears that threaten to spill

The helplessness pooling in her eyes 

And through all the signs that are giving her away 

She’s trying double to stop it from showing 

Her smile is beautifully broken 

Although, its not the shards of pain you see 


Give her her happiness that she spent on resolving fights

Give her her childhood that she spent crouched in a corner

Give her her youth that she spent hating herself 

Give her herself that she gave up to be and do what they told her to


Look past my smile, her eyes plead

Look at the tear stained cheeks beneath the powder I’ve used, her skin screams

I’m not strong enough to tell you but I really need to let it out, her mind yells

Tell me everything that’s troubling you, I’ll help, her demeanor soothes


Don’t sweep your eyes over the shaking palms at her sides, its growing worse

Don’t huff at the darkening circles around her dimming eyes, she wakes up at every sound and waits for nothing 

Don’t shut your ear to the sniffling coming every night from the dark in her room, she’s muffling the agony into her pillow

Don’t fail to notice how strong and high her wall is built around her, terribly thick and beautifully carved, for the insides of her mind, it’s noiselessly killing her every passing second.

For the girl that I’ve grown watching and for the pain that’s slowly starting to seem far too cruel. You’re stronger than you think you are. You can allow yourself to be weak sometimes. Be the victim to life, sometimes. You’re okay. You’ll be okay. A day isn’t 24 hours of night, darling. A day isn’t 24 hours of night. 


Two posts in less than a day? It happened. I didn’t really think this matched the frequency and vibe (Let’s just pretend it’s an actual thing. Those are some big ass words.) I’ve been having over the past few weeks but I decided to put this up anyway because this girl means the world to me. I wanted to stop the ‘very hard to understand what you’re saying’ sort of posts but this is a blog I promised to let loose on and post myself and what made my everyday. She isn’t just another draft.

Until our time meets again,

A

LAST POST: BEAUTY AND THE BEAST

INSTAGRAM: ANYA ABRAHAM

21 Replies to “A DAY ISN’T 24 HOURS OF NIGHT, DARLING”

  1. Hey there! How have you been?
    I’ve missed you, gal!
    BTW, the post is stupendously beautiful and I think that this was an amazing attempt for supporting that girl. πŸ™‚
    Will be seeing more of your posts right now. πŸ˜› Expect some more comments and likes.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey hey! Strangely I found this comment after ever other comment of yours but just wanted to say I’m glad you’re back!! I hope I’m not wrong but I think you were writing a major exam? I reckon that’s gone well?
      I’ve missed you, too! Can’t wait for your posts. I just got back on the scene and heading over to your site right away.
      Cheers, man!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

